BHHB Chapter 13: Mastering Magic

[Kuro-sama, here is another delicious and large carrot for you today.]

The carrot was placed right in front of me. I mindlessly nibbled at it, sitting in Mara’s lap. 

[…You have an appetite even when you’re depressed.] 

For some reason, that punk is lazily sitting on the chair in front of me. Leaning over the backrest, his arms flung over the top, he grins flirtatiously at me. Are you bored or something?

I haven’t felt like doing anything since that day, and I spend my days hiding in the cracks between my closet. It’s my second favorite place after Mara’s cushions (lol)… Although, my absolute favourite place is the Chancellor’s arms. He’s also a very busy man though, so I haven’t seen him since that time when he hugged me about the translator.

His Highness? His Highness is out of the question. It’s not a hug. I’m just sandwiched between them. It’s a press, you know. Muscle-to-muscle pressing. Well, I do like to be petted. It’s the perfect amount of force that makes me swoon. 

I caught the sound of someone’s footsteps heading toward us at great speed. 

Your Highness is on a business trip again with Al. The punk, Mara, and my knights are here, and the Chancellor doesn’t stomp when he walks like this. Then, the only person left is…

*BANGGGG!*

[How long are you going to stay depressed and sit on your ass? That’s no way to live up to your reputation as a holy beast of healing!]

The knight’s captain broke down the door, barging into the room with an angry face and barking harsh words. 

…Please remember to fix the door, okay? This is my room as well as your Highness’s room.

Yes, the Black Rabbit has been spending its daily life in His Highness’ private room, but that’s a story for another time.

Is that door that fragile that it can be destroyed just like that? Maybe it’s not thick enough…no, no, no, that door is plenty thick. It’s almost as thick as an apple! 

As I was checking the thickness of the door with a distant look, the Captain grabbed me with one hand and squeezed my side. Don’t suddenly lift me up~! I feel like I’m flying!

[Alright! We’re going to have a special training session today, little Kuro.] 

As soon as he said that, the captain headed in a certain direction…to the knight’s training grounds. 

[What, why?! Suddenly deciding to train me, I’m just a normal rabbit!]

[Normal…? I’m sure you’re aware of the results of Lindy’s measurements? My little lord is full to the brim with magical power! Let’s go train! Ride into battle!] 

[I’m not sure what you mean by “ride into battle”… Damn it! Don’t make sharp turns when you turn!]

[What are you screaming about? We’re here.]

[What!? You’re acting like the way you’re moving is perfectly normal! It’s not; it’s like an attraction or extreme sport! Taking sharp turns at breakneck speeds, dashing down straight corridors so fast I thought my neck would break off…you jumped down whole levels, and ignored every staircase!] 

The way he moves is way too agile considering his bulky body…

I felt myself weakening for every moment I was in the Captain’s hands. Soon enough, he bent over and dropped me on the floor of the training grounds. 

I slid bonelessly in a heap. 

[Ugh, that was too intense for me.] 

[This is no time to stretch out, Little Black. Let’s get to work.]

…….

[aAaAaAaAaAAAAAAAAAAAAAA-!!!!]

[What’s wrong?]

What’s wrong?! I’ve never fought before! It’s like a Level 1 Hero suddenly challenging the Demon Lord without levelling up first! It’s stupidly reckless!  

Ignoring my reaction, the captain stands at the center of the circle of knights who have already been trained, and calls on me.

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeee. What kind of punishment game is this?!

The knights felt out of place next to the small, shivering rabbit. The fluffy, living ball of cotton wool trembled and begged for help with moist eyes. The knights wanted to reach out and help, but they would have to face the wrath of their Captain. It simply wasn’t worth it, so they stood and watched from afar as I trembled. 

[If Little Black won’t come to me, I’ll come to you.]

The Captain stepped forward, swinging a sword as large as himself. It swept towards me with great momentum, shining. Hurriedly, I dodged to the side, only to find it approaching yet again, this time from the opposite side. 

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I avoided it, half crying. However, by the time I noticed the foot in front of me, I had already been kicked, and was sent flying with a cry. The little rabbit crashed into the ground, rolling. 

[Bufu-!]

[You’re slacking off! Let’s go again.] 

Ugh…I landed on my back…It hurts…I’m scared. I’m so very scared. I don’t understand, why is this happening to me? I’m sure this would piss off a lot of animal right’s groups, haha, ouch. 

[Okay, here’s what we’re going to do next!]

[Mukyu?!] 

I was knocked down once again. Really, why is this happening? 

I don’t understand why the captain brought me here and did something like this. Because I’m small? Because I’m black? No, it’s not like that. He said earlier that I was depressed. So…maybe this his way of trying to encourage me? 

He charged at me with a burning sword, covered in flames. I don’t want to lose! But it’s scary! I squeeze my eyes shut.

[Using a magic film to repel your opponent’s attack…Amazing! You’re doing it, Kuro!] 

[Eh?]

When I opened my eyes and looked around, a thin film was wrapped around me, rippling slightly. The sword swung towards me again, but bounced off the film once more. 

What’s this? Did I do this? When did this happen?

Apparently, I unknowingly used magic. When I relaxed, the defensive magic disappeared. Noticing the opportunity, the captain stepped forward, closing in on me again. 

Huh?! No, don’t come here! Stay away!

[You can’t beat your opponent with just defensive magic! Come on!]

You’re coming at me too fast-!

I managed to put up my defenses again. This time, he performed a series of techniques and attacked me again and again without rest.

[You’re just defending yourself? What? That’s all you can do, you useless rabbit. Why do you have any magic power at all?]

[I don’t know…]

[You can’t think of anything but yourself. That’s why your friends got killed!]

[ ! ]

That’s not true.

[No, that’s not…]

[No! That’s what you are, isn’t it? You’re so self-centered. You don’t really care about your friends, do you? ‘I’m so cute. I just need to save myself. I don’t really care about my friends?’ It’s all about saving yourself.]

[You’re wrong.]

[You’re so cute. I guess they weren’t all that important, after all. I bet that, to you, hanging out with all of them was just a huge waste of time.]

I twitched my ears and stopped moving. The captain also stopped moving his sword and started cursing my friends… through me.

[I’m sure you’ll agree. They only think of themselves. It’s ugly. Especially the little ones like you. They sneak around behind our backs and talk shit. They’re cowards when they’re alone, but when they’re with others, their attitude gets bigger. That’s what happened to your people, isn’t it? You’re already unsightly beasts, and now you’re even more unsightly.] 

[Shut up.]

I pull myself from the ground and slam the ground. 

[I’m not going to shut up. No, I won’t. You watch your mouth. You dirty, ugly, despicable animals. It’s a good thing there’s less of them with the forest. I’m sick of the thought of those beasts around.]

[Shut up.]

I felt heat rise in my body.

[You’re glad you survived, aren’t you? Yeah, you’re all such cowardly creatures, aren’t you? Little creatures without their friends. Maybe they’re just as alive as you are, huh? Maybe they left you behind and ran away, hoping to save themselves? Ironic, isn’t it?]

[I told you to Shuuuuuuuutttttt. Uppppp!]

Heat flooded my body.

I shouted, and at the same time there was a whooshing sound. All around me, the dust was swirling and flying wildly.

[Ugly beast? Cowardly creature? I don’t care about me. I think I’m a trash person, who can’t do anything myself!…. But! I won’t forgive anyone who speaks badly about my friends! Everyone is very cute! They are kind children who support each other because they have no power! Rather, humans are uglier. They only look at us with those kinds of eyes! We are certainly beasts. But you don’t know anything about us, and you don’t even try to understand that we have hearts!] 

I can’t allow you to speak ill of my people. You really don’t know anything about us. Spreading your delusions, and thinking of us as evil for your own convenience.

[Huh, you finally said something.]

[…Eh?]

When the dust settled, His Highness appeared in front of me. Why? Here now… And what does that mean?

I looked up at His Highness without understanding. His Highness relaxed his usual expressionless face at my dumbfounded appearance, but smiled at me with a slightly tearful face.

[I’m sorry, but what the Captain said earlier was a lie. No one in the castle now thinks that. It was just that… the fact that Kuro wasn’t speaking really worried us. Rather, I’m glad you screamed and lashed out. Well, I’m a little sad, but still.]

[So, Your Highness …?]

[Hey, Kuro. I like you.]

What…? Why, all of a sudden?

[I can’t read your face and understand your feelings perfectly because you’re a rabbit, but I can see how you move forward despite your fears and try to return the kindness given to you. Thanks to Kuro, the atmosphere of this castle is alive and well. Everyone smiles happily when they see Kuro. That’s why… I want to see you smile too.]

His Highness knelt down in front of me and gazed at me with eyes that were like the brilliance of stars in the night sky.

I want you to smile with me too. I’m a rabbit, so I couldn’t make facial expressions, but it was true that everyone around me laughed and sometimes teased me, depending on how I looked, and I always enjoyed where I was. But ever since I heard about that day, I’ve been depressed and everyone has been trying to cheer me up somehow.

I…was not able to see what was going on around me. 

The little punk who kept checking in on me and talking about silly things. Mara giving me my favorite carrots everyday. 

The two men guarding me, watching me with worried expressions on their faces. The Chancellor and His Highness, watching me while pretending to enjoy a cup of tea on their break. 

Al also arranged the cushions in my basket, redecorated my room, and arranged flowers in a vase early in the morning when I was asleep so that I could at least feel relaxed when I slept.

Other times, when I was walking down the hallway to eat, people who passed me would nudge me and encourage me.

[Kuro, you’re not alone.]

His Highness reached out his hand to me. A large, calloused, masculine hand.

[We’ll help you. So don’t try to handle it all by yourself.]

From that day on, I thought I was all alone.

But there were already so many friends around me.

Ah, God. I’m not alone; there are already so many people who care about me.

[… Denka]

Reading my feelings, a half-crying voice leaked out from the translator.

[I’m sorry!]

I also love everyone! 

With that feeling, I jumped at His Royal Highness. His Highness was surprised for a moment, but kindly hugged me. 

[I’m sorry to interrupt your good mood, but…]

[Hmmm? Captain, you’re ruining the atmosphere.]

[I don’t need that kind of blunt greeting. I knew Little Black’s magic was great, but I underestimated it. I’m sorry.]

[Oh, Captain. I forgot that you were the one I was fighting a while ago. I’m sorry, too.]

[I’m sorry, too, for what I said earlier, and for agitating you so much.]

[No, I got pretty hot-headed too. Did I go overboard?]

[…Ah, this is something I asked you to do, so it’s okay. I’ll send in the construction guys right away.] 

What? Construction?

I looked around at the training area…

[What!? What’s this!?]

The ground of the Knights’ training ground was scooped out like a great wound, and dust coated the nearby trees. A few knights around me also collapsed. It was a truly chaotic scene. 

It was my magical power that was causing my body to heat and shake?! 

Apparently, I can use attack magic. Grandly, in fact. 


T/N: Sorry this was a day late. I had a job interview, so it was put on hold for a little bit. This was a difficult chapter to translate; both physically and emotionally. I’m still grumpy at the Knight Captain though…translating it made me want to gnash my teeth! It’s also twice as long as last week’s chapter, and much longer than usual. I hate split chapters though, so I just spent a couple of hours extra on it.

If you like the novel, please review it on NovelUpdates! There aren’t any recent reviews, so I don’t know how I’m doing…


Previous Chapter

Next Chapter

Add a Ko-fi button to your WordPress site – Ko-fi.com Help ...

3 thoughts on “BHHB Chapter 13: Mastering Magic

  1. I think that was a stupid af way to make Kuro react, I don’t care if his intentions were ‘good’, I will f*cking hate him forever. “She’s depressed because all her friends died so let’s say bs about them to make her angry, because anger is the best way to overcome emotional pain”… f*cking moron.

    I’m sorry for cursing and thanks for the chapter ~🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Captain needs a good high kick in the teeth! His methods are way too inappropriate!
    Thanks for the translation!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started