BHHB Chapter 5: Rabbit exposes Evil!

The next thing I knew, I was asleep. When I next awoke, I was in a dimly lit room. I dozed, hazing in and out of consciousness. 

Finally, I struggled out of my perfect sleeping spot, and looked around. 

…There’s no one here. 

I listened with long ears, wild and eager, but quietly. It seems High Highness has returned to his office. The sun has just started to set, so people were still bustling around the castle, making noise. 

I’m alone in his private office. Now’s my chance to do something! I can do anything I want! Now what do I want to do? ….I don’t have any ideas. 

When I’m alone, I always start thinking about my missing friends. Which, of course, makes me feel lonely and scared all over again. I squeaked, wishing for someone to come. 

I wonder if anyone will show up? When you’re left alone in an unfamiliar place, it’s a little…

Then the sound of movement from the office! The sound of a door opening echoes through the room, and I hear the sound of soft footsteps. The door to the private room opens. 

[…Are you safe?]

His Highness, the owner of the room, stepped inside. 

————

[What happened? Are you still angry?]

Instead of hugging me, he picks me up by my neck, tilting his head as he asks. 

…Is this person mistaking me for a cat instead of a rabbit?

[Did you feel lonely when you were left here alone? You see, I heard that when rabbits get lonely, they die.] 

[How horrible! I’m so sorry! I didn’t realise it could kill you!] Mara bustles into the room. 

No Mara, I was lonely and depressed because I was thinking about my friends. I won’t die that easily. I can’t live as a real wild animal, but I’m not that weak. 

However, I am a rabbit, after all. His Highness or Mara didn’t understand any of my words. 

[It’s time to eat. Let’s have Kuro have dinner with his Highness.]

[I can see her *mogumogu* by my side…Ah!] 

[Yes, good for you, Your Highness. Kuro-sama, I’m sorry, but please keep this unfortunate Muscle Prince company for a while.]

Unfortunate Muscle Prince…

I suppose he does have great muscles…but is it really okay to say that in front of him? But did His Highness even hear it? No? Even though his face is expressionless, I feel an aura of excitement around him. Is he lost in his own world? 

We headed to the dining room with the disappointing Muscle Prince. The dining room is, of course, a Royal Dining Room, so it seems a full course will be served on a massive, long table. Though I don’t think I’ll get a full course for me, a rabbit. 

Except that’s exactly what I got. A full course. 

Appetizers were all vegetables. The main course was carrots. Mara had put a lot of care and effort into the meal, and worked with the main chef to prepare a special dessert. It was a carrot, cut into the shape of a delicate rose. Each petal was dexterously cut into thin pieces, and carefully decorated. It was a work of art. Moreover, it was Mara who had gone to the trouble of requesting such a thing. Mara…do you understand the heart of rabbits? And you can also make such art? You’re way to versatile! 

By the way, at this time I was eating under the Lord’s feet. As I ate, I could his burning gaze, painfully sharp. I quickly filled my mouth with carrots and ignored it. 

Everytime he glanced at me, Al would interject. 

[Kuro-sama can’t concentrate with you glancing like that. Should we them to another room to eat?] 

Every time, His Highness would resume eating and look away. You Highness, are you a child?!

Furthermore, the amount of food for His Royal Highness was amazing. [How many mains are there!] I wanted to shout. 

It was mainly just meat. Meat, meat, meat on a long table. All meat! I

As a herbivore, and one with a little stomach at that, I felt full just staring at it. Wait, there’s no rabbit meat in all that, is there? I’m not in danger too, right? 

But it seems he eats it all because of how hard he exercises. That muscle is truly all muscle, after all. I don’t see an ounce of fat. 

I heard he was training with the sword while I was asleep. After that, he went and dealt with some of his subordinates. How many people did he deal with directly, I wonder? 

After that, I enjoyed the full course and had some tea (well, milk for me), served by another maid other than Mara. 

However…

That maid clearly looked at me with a dirty look! Is it because I’m an animal? I use my tongue to lap up the milk, after all. It was enough that I just sat and waited, without drinking any milk. 

But then, I heard the maid leave and enter the next room. You see, because I’m a rabbit, I have really good hearing. 

[Why do I have to entertain a beast? What’s so special about that thing? It’s black! And dirty! I couldn’t even be in a good mood for His Highness.]

[Why would you want to? The Lord’s eyes are so sharp and barbaric. And why is his brother Christopher fair-skinned and white, but his skin dark and black? I would much rather serve his brother, honestly.]

(TN Note: Wtf, racist much?) 

[But isn’t his status much higher? Plus the salary is much better. You should work hard; if he takes interest in you, you might be able to become Queen, but I bet his mistress will be able to buy as many jewels and dresses as they want!] 

Not nice! Those words are not nice at all! 

I hear three unpleasant voices. Is it okay to treat me and say such things about me like that? Although really…

I absolutely despised the remarks they made about His Highness. 

I don’t know what kind of person he is, but is he dirty because his skin is dark and black? Is he barbaric? But you serve him just because the salary is good? Because he’s got a high status? Why…is no one contradicting them? Is His Highness just a tool to you? 

I can’t say anything about him, because I’ve just met him. I can only judge from the outside. But he’s made me happy, given me status, and has a wonderful appearance.

They’re really the worst kind of humans. I know all about those kinds of people. Fussy and vain with their appearance and always acting arrogant and prideful to the world around them. Beautiful on the outside, but ugly within. 

So, in response to their words, I twisted my body back and sent the milk dish they had given me  flying with a mighty kick. 

The dish flew through the air, milk spilling across the floor. It landed with a *gashan!* smashing into pieces, probably landing at a bad angle. It seems I put too much strength into it. 

However, I have no regrets. 

His Highness was shocked at what I had done, and lifted me from the floor. 

[Kuro?!] 

I thought he would be angry, but he seems more worried than anything…

[What happened? She wasn’t in such a bad mood when Mara was giving her food earlier…] 

Al doesn’t seem to be angry either. Besides, His Highness seemed to have understood something when he heard Al’s mutter. 

[Call in the maid who served Kuro milk earlier.] 

(Eep!) 

The maid that served me let out a little scream in the next room. She may have sensed the murderous aura leaking from His Highness. Soon enough, Al reappeared with the maid in tow, and they stood in front of His Highness and myself. 

And then His Highness lowered me to the floor.

[What do you think of this maid?] he asked me. 

I turned my back to the maid and lifted my legs. I slammed them into the table leg, hearing it shudder and plates rattle violently. Oops, did I break something? I must’ve put too much strength into it again. 

[I see.. This is the first time Kuro has been so emotional. She wasn’t like this when Mara served her. But whatever it is you did changed that. Why is that?] 

[…Isn’t it the whims of a beast?]

[I’ve only spent a little bit of time with Kuro. However, I’ve a lot of pets in the past, and generally understand what they say. And…]

There, His Highness cut off his words and stared for a moment. I tilted my head and waited for his next words. 

[This is a rational rabbit. Do you understand what I’m saying? This rabbit cannot speak our words, but she understands what we’re saying.] 

…! He discovered my secret! (Which I wasn’t really trying to hide)! 

[I think you’re hiding something from me. I think whatever it is, Kuro sensed it. In fact, Kuro hasn’t drunk a single drop of milk, have they? What did you do?] 

[There’s nothing wrong with it! I just carried it here like instructed!] 

[Kuro doesn’t eat poorly.]

[…It’s capricious]

As I watched the battle between His Highness and the maid, Mara entered the room carrying a wine glass with a transparent liquid in it. 

[Can you settle it with this? This will tell us whether the milk is poisoned. If it turns black after adding the milk, poison has been added. If it remains transparent, the opposite is true.]

Is there such a thing in the human world? I thought it was too convenient, as I examined the glass. 

However, the maid seems to think differently, her complexion quickly becoming pale as the blood drained from her cheeks. She watched as the milk was tipped into the wine glass, and it was revealed that…

The liquid quickly became dyed deep black. 

[Now, the colour has turned black. Is there anything you want to say?]

[I…no…It wasn’t me…Please believe me!] 

The maid pleads with teary eyes, falling to her knees as her trembling legs refuse to continue to hold her up. 

However, from both sides of His Highness, two knights emerge, grabbing her by either arm and dragging her from the room. 

In that way, dinner was concluded, a strange meal that I never expected. 

After that, I returned to His Highness’s private room, carried in his arms. He sat in a chair and lifted me from his side, staring into my eyes. 

[Do you really understand what I say?]

…Ehhhhhh?! Didn’t you already deduce that earlier? You said it with confidence earlier!

It had been a bluff! I couldn’t hide my surprise, my eyes opening wide and my stupid mouth dropping open. Your Highness! That’s too much! 

[Well, I suppose I actually check first. Rather, I have something I want to ask you.] 

Hmm? I tilted my head and waited. 

He pulled me to his chest and hugged me tight, his breathing rough. Hey, what’s wrong with you? Do you have a chronic illness or something?! 

[Can you see good and evil in the hearts of people?] 

Eh? Earlier, that’s just my personal judgement. I don’t know if it’s perfect. I’ll just tilt my head back further…Oh my neck, it hurts! 

[Really, what do you want of me?]

Oh, is that a complaint? I don’t know what to say; I’m just a rabbit, after all. 

The day after being asked such a strange question, I was forced to attend an interview at the Royal Palace. 

Huh? Why is this happening?! 

Previous Chapter

Next chapter

Add a Ko-fi button to your WordPress site – Ko-fi.com Help ...

2 thoughts on “BHHB Chapter 5: Rabbit exposes Evil!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started