BHHB Chapter 7: Visiting the Knights

[Kuro, why don’t you exercise a little?]

*Gottonnnn*…Wheee…I’m rolling…

Wait, what was that? No way, did His Highness just say [Kuro, why don’t you exercise a little?] ? Isn’t that just a nice way of implying I’m getting fat?! 

I had been indulging in my favourite carrots all morning, true, and was even nibbling on one now. But when I heard those shocking words, the carrot slipped from my paws and hit the ground. Of course, Al was fast enough that the carrot was swiftly picked up and placed upon my plate, but still. 

I’m not happy at all – I even feel ashamed of myself. 

[Your Highness, did you just tell your rabbit that she was getting fat? I’m at a loss for words.]

[I think she’s had quite the shock. Look, she’s been eating carrots non-stop all morning, but now her mouth isn’t nibbling even a little!]

[Oh! I-I’m, uh, sorry. I just meant -]

*BANG*

My foot hit the floor. 

[I’m sorry!]

Well, since I’m still unable to actually speak, the morning proceeded in its usual calm manner. 

According to Al, His Highness wants to take me to see the Knights today. I’m not entirely sure why, though. I tilted my head questioningly, but the Prince simply sighed, and continued carrying me there silently. 

It’s been a month since I was first brought to the castle. In that time, I’ve grown accustomed to the Prince’s strange behaviour, like the little sighs, squeals and groans he sometimes makes. It’s probably a chronic disease of some kind, I think. Hopefully he’ll recover soon. I’ve decided to keep going with what I’ve been doing so far; the castle can be cold, but I’m still warm from everyone’s caring gazes. I don’t have anything I need to worry about, so I’m happy. 

The Prince glanced at me with an expressionless face. It’s somewhat impressive that he manages to maintain such a depressing air despite showing no emotions. A talented man, indeed. 

[You know, some of the people that Kuro passed in the interviews ended up as Knight apprentices. I thought that I should check in and see how they’re going. And since you passed them, I thought…perhaps you should come and check in on them?]

Check in on them yourself, Your Highness! They’re your subordinates! I don’t know what you think I saw, but back then, I was completely dazed at the sight of so many muscles! Of course, Your Highness is the same…sometimes, I’m still afraid of you because of how scary you look, but I wonder; perhaps those same looks make some people trust you?

Anyway, it’s good to check in on your subordinates sometimes. 

But hey, why does it sound like you’re inviting a maiden out with those words, and not a rabbit? 

From the beginning, His Highness obviously planned on visiting his subordinates. But when he was explaining it to me, his voice had gradually become softer, and weaker as he spoke. So, instead of an explanation, it became an invite, with the Prince glancing nervously at me as he spoke! 

Am I a maiden or something?!

When Mara does it, it’s cute and shy, you know! It suits her character! But you’re a macho man, with big muscles! It doesn’t suit you at all! 

In the end, I decided to go. Not because I was trapped, of course. It wasn’t because I was being forcibly held in place by giant, firm muscles. Not at all. He is very strong, though. His arms have to hold up and protect an entire country, I suppose. 

I’m not complimenting them! I’m not! 

I arrived at the Knight’s courtyard while being trapped in those arms like a rabbit sandwich. The moment I saw them, I thought they looked like they were about to overheat. 

It was in the middle of morning training (10 o’clock counts as morning for this rabbit) and they were covered in sweat and dirt.  

A pair of knights were sparring with swords, each stroke ringing in the air. My ears twitched as they fought, instinctively. 

I’m a little scared. Even if they’re training swords, wouldn’t even a single blow from one of those knights leave a serious injury? Although they were wearing armour, it seems like it does hurt, when a strike slips past their defense. As I was caught up in my day-dreaming and shrunk into His Highness’s arms, one of the men noticed the Prince’s presence. 

[Black Rabbit?]

My long ears picked up on someone’s muttering in the crowd. If I tilt my head to the side, I wonder what kind of response I’ll get? 

And maybe, if I focus with my ears and look out at the crowd with bright eyes, I can figure out who’s the one muttering. Which person is it? Eh? Wait, they’re all looking this way? It’s all of them?

The next thing I noticed, every eye in the place was fixated on me. The atmosphere gradually became tense, and I quivered. 

Then suddenly…!

Every knight knelt on the floor as one, hanging their heads and raising their swords. Then they stopped, frozen, as they held their pose. 

What is this? What’s happening? Ah, is it because you’re the Prince? Don’t tell me they do this every time? That must get tiring. 

[ [ Kuro-sama, the Black Holy Beast of Healing! Welcome! ] ] 

…Eh? They’re shouting….my….name? But why? Do I really need a welcome?

While my head spun, full of doubt and confusion, the Prince opened his mouth. 

[You guys are frightened of Kuro, right? Don’t be afraid.] 

His voice was crisp with a deep edge. With such an intimidating voice, there’s no doubt that you’re the scariest one here, Your Highness! 

And with that, His Highness just dropped me on the floor! Hey! The world becomes unfamiliar when your line of sight changes so drastically! What are you doing?! 

For the time being, I quickly settled between the Prince’s legs. Shyly, I peeked out between them, twitching my nose. Slowly, I took a step forward with my front legs and looked around. In the end, it was simply too scary and uncomfortable, so I retreated to behind them once again. Once more, I looked around and twitched my nose. 

Hey, this, this isn’t so bad! It’s not scary at all, Your Highness! 

Looking around the room, everyone seemed to be writhing where they knelt. Even His Highness was red-faced and covering his face with one hand. Do you all have a chronic disease? Everyone one of you? Well done, I guess. 

A certain person approached this chaotic scene while cackling and clapping their hands. 

[Ha ha ha! Amazing! The Black Healing Holy Beast has come for a visit!] 

[Captain, I’m also here.]

The Prince was recovering from the interruption but I knew it. It’s all okay. 

The person called the Captain was also a big person. He was as tall as His Highness, with short blonde hair speckled with gray. He looked at me with a kind look in his gray eyes. 

The second after I met him, he suddenly came out with a random question. 

[So, do you have magical powers?]

…What?

What is it with today? Is this the day you want to give me a heart attack? Am I lucky? Do I have magical powers? Me? Eh, am I magical?!

[…Captain what do you mean?]

Yeah, what do you really mean?!

Thus, I followed the Captain and listened to him speak to His Highness. 

What does it mean for me to have magical powers, exactly?


Translator Note: Hello! I haven’t left a little note in a while. I hope that everyone is enjoying the series so far! Over the course of the last five or so chapters, I’ve slowly learnt where to deviate from the literal translation to improve readability, and where to quote precisely. I beg you to please have some patience with me, as this is my first time translating, and I’m doing my best.

‘Til next time!

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter

Add a Ko-fi button to your WordPress site – Ko-fi.com Help ...

3 thoughts on “BHHB Chapter 7: Visiting the Knights

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started