BHHB Chapter 8: Black Rabbit learns about Magic Power

What even is magical power in the first place? 

In this world, everyone has magical power, some more than others. In the animal kingdom, most animals don’t have even the most basic magical powers. There are, however, rare creatures that do possess magical powers. 

  • Creatures that have been consumed by evil and have lost all reason <Demons>
  • Creatures that still possess reason, and magical power equal to human beings <Demon Beasts>
  • Creatures that possess special abilities, and magical powers superior to mankind <Holy Beasts>
  • Creatures with powers akin to that of Gods, either of which may or may not exist in this world <Phantom Beasts>

These are the four types, roughly divided. 

Magical power is made up of the elements of nature – Earth, Water, Fire, Light, Darkness and Non-Attribute. Each magical creature or person usually has one or two attributes, which is common among the citizens of the country. Aristocrats usually possess two to three. The Royal family also possess the same amount, but the Light attribute has been passed down generation to generation. 

The current reigning King, Nashtal Lansler, has inherited the power of Light and Earth. 

The first prince, Villinge Lansler, has Fire, Light and Earth. (TN: Our ML!) 

The second prince, Christopher Lansler, has Light and Water. 

The late queen, Milneria Lansler, had Light, Water and Earth. 

The darkness attribute is very rare in the human world; the number of people who possess it can be counted on one hand. In the animal kingdom, however, it isn’t rare at all, and many monsters such as <Demons> possess it. 

Among Holy Beasts, the Darkness attribute is rarely seen, perhaps about as often as it appears in humans. Phantom Beasts are rumoured to have had four or more attributes, including the Darkness attribute, if they ever existed at all. 

The different attributes are all good for different things; Earth is good for defense, Water is a balanced all-rounder, Fire has high attack power, Light is good for recovery and healing, and  Darkness has incredibly high attack power, but little durability. Non-attribute magic is classed as special magic…such as transferring and visiting other dimensions. 

[Well, that’s the basics when it comes to magic power, I guess. Did you understand all that?]

Well, the way the Captain teaches is clear and easy to understand, so I understood most of it. Only most of it though, because that was a lot of information! 

Are you going to be the King? There’s a whole category of beast no one has seen?! The Queen, His Highness’s mother, passed away a while ago…I’m very sorry to hear that. For some reason, just saying I’m sorry makes me feel lighter…but yes, I am very sorry for your loss. 

There are so many things I’m curious about, and want to say, but I’m a rabbit, so I can’t! Kuu…please, someone, give me a translator! Ahh, but they can’t, because no one can understand rabbit language. Because rabbits don’t really have a voice in the first place. 

If I can’t speak, I’ll go to the library next time! Then at least I’ll be able to understand the story better! …But how am I supposed to tell you I want to go to the library? 

Again, this rabbit feels the urge to hold her head in her hands. 

The rabbit, resting on the knees of the Prince, gives up and flops over in frustration. Seeing that, the Prince suppresses his chronic disease? With all his might. Hah, nothing has changed. 

From that point on, I was carried by His Highness as he followed the Captain. And now, with His Highness sitting on a sofa in the Captain’s room, and I, sitting on His Highness’s lap, they talked about magical power. 

However, His Highness’s legs are those of a trained warrior, and were made of tough muscle. In other words, it’s hard. I’m very uncomfortable. I’ve been moving around, trying to find a good angle to sit at for a while. But it’s all made of muscle and hard. 

[I might be wrong, but that rabbit of yours looks rather uncomfortable. Why don’t you put it on the sofa?]

[I refuse. I won’t let it relax anywhere else.]

[What a narrow mind. I hate men with narrow minds, don’t you, Kuro?]

[Hate me…?! Kuro, do you hate me?! Don’t leave me!]

Was that a command? Do I have a choice? Do I have any veto power? I didn’t think so. 

Gradually, handling His Highness became a burden on this black rabbit. 

The leader muttered [As usual, this boy…] and sighed. What? Does he have a long history with His Highness? He calls him the Prince and speaks with him in a casual tone, not a formal one. He even used the nickname ‘Villy’ with him. He looks to be in fifties, perhaps he taught the prince sword training when he was younger?

Yeah, I’ll tilt my head a little. 

[…Hmm, it’s inconvenient not to be able to speak words. I understand your meaning though.]

[…! Is it true? That Kuro can truly understand my words?]

[That’s right. This little one understands everything we say. After all, this child has a lot of magical power.]

Eh? Do I understand their words because I have a lot of magical power?

[Are you saying that they understand our words because they have a lot of magical power? If so, does that mean Kuro is a <Demon Beast>? It’s rational…]

It seems the Captain and I have been thinking the same thing. But when he spoke, his eyes slanted and he glared at His Highness.

[Did you bring it inside without knowing?]

[What do you mean?]

[That that little black thing was a Holy Beast? Moreover, it’s more like a Phantom Beast. Didn’t you know that, and protected him?]

What?

[Holy Beast…They’re real? Not rumoured?]

[That’s right. I still don’t know this guy very well yet, but…I can tell there’s at least four attributes present. Darkness, Light, Water and Earth. If it’s not good at controlling magic, it could destroy a whole country.]

Well, this is getting a little troublesome. Am I really a Holy Beast? What? I have four attributes? I have enough magic power to destroy a country?…It’s just a mess…Ah, let’s escape from reality for a little bit…

[Little Black, don’t run away now.]

Hiii! How did you tell that I was running from reality?! Why did you interrupt me?! 

He sighed again and said [Don’t you resemble your owner a bit?]

No. No, no, no, no, no. Do I look like this disappointing perverted musclehead? We’re super different!

With all my might, I slam my legs into His Highness’s knees! I expressed my anger through my hit.

His Highness quietly lowered me to the floor. No worries, I’ll continue to bang the floor here! Wait. Why did His Highness put me down? I turned and stared at him, concerned, and…and found him curled up, clutching the spot where I had slammed him. 

Huh? Did I really do that much damage? I’m sorry if I left a bruise! 

[Please don’t be angry. Forget punching a hole in the ground, you might break the whole room.]

Who was it that made me angry again? Moreover, isn’t it exaggerated to say I could destroy the whole room?! I’m just a weak rabbit, you know-?!

[I told you before, didn’t I, Little Black? You have a lot of magic power. Moreover, you’re not aware of it right now. It’s dangerous to be emotional in such a state. When you get angry, you unconsciously accumulate magic power in your feet and power flows from them. After that, the power is released and scattered around you. If you are distracted, you’ll break things. Magic is useful, but not all-powerful….Well, I suppose I’m the one who offended you in the first place.]

[I’m sorry] he says, bowing. 

When I get angry, I break things…Speaking of, when I confronted the milk maid you served me, I put a lot of force into my legs when I kicked the table. Didn’t all the plates on the table rattle loudly when I did that? Is…that because of magic power? Even now, I hit His Highness’s knee with my foot and now he’s crouched and in pain. 

I’m sorry I tried to do something stupid even after listening to your explaination. Also, I forgive you. Also, since I apologised too, is it okay to say all is forgiven? Again, I’m very sorry. 

However, since I’m a rabbit, and my neck is short and often bent downwards, it’s probably hard to tell I’m apologizing.   

The Captain seems to be able to tell anyway, and he gently loosened his sharp eyes with a smile. 

Wow…a long time ago, perhaps…no, I’m sure even now, women would fall for that dandy appearance. Yeah, he’ll be alright. 

And, as for His Highness, as soon as he saw my apology, it seems the usual illness? Flared up again. He buried his red face in his hands and made a strangled sound, like [Wooo] or [Ughoo]. Good job. 

*Knock Knock*

Ah, is it a visitor for the Captain? While wondering about it, the guard outside announced [The Chancellor is here.]

Eh, the Chancellor? Is it okay for us to be here too? While I was fidgeting with my ears, the Chancellor stepped inside and smiled at me. [So you were here.]

Oh, you’re beautiful today too. Your smile is beautiful. 

[Do you have something to do with this Little Black one?]

[Little Black…? Oh right, yes. I have a proposal for Kuro-sama.]

Proposal? What? As the Chancellor stands and looks me in the eye, I naturally raise my head and meet his eyes. Then suddenly His Highness covers my face. 

What ?! 

Annoyed by his sudden actions, I push at his hand with my paws, asking him to move. He refuses. 

[Don’t seduce Erik with such cute eyes.]

…Erik? Oh, is that the Chancellor’s nickname? And seduce? When did I seduce him? I was just looking at him! 

You’re kind of troublesome, Your Highness. 

He grins at my expression and I snort in frustration. When I snorted, it made a strange sound, though a couple of other sounds, like laughter, also echoed. 

Buh, it’s all too much trouble. 

The dandy Captain burst into laughter at the exchange between His Highness and myself. Hey, I’m just expressing that I’m angry! If it’s that interesting, then maybe I just won’t say anything else. I’m really not happy. 

When it comes to the Chancellor, I can’t help but smile back at him. His eyes are so warm. That’s a lot of damage, I’m going to need you to stop that. 

[There is a person who makes excellent magical tools in my castle. I thought that perhaps I could make a machine that translates Kuro-sama’s words, so I sent a proposal off.]

I’m sure you heard a lot from the Captain just now, didn’t you?

The Chancellor smiled at me as he spoke, with greedy eyes like I was a pile of gold.

Well, I don’t have anything to hide. I’m just an ordinary rabbit. There’s no reason for me to be scared. My fur is definitely not standing on end! No, actually, I am afraid!

[Hmm, is he back already?]

[I have just received a report from my subordinates. The inspection is complete, but it hasn’t been solved.]

[Well, if that sort of thing could be solved so easily…]

…? Apparently the one who built my translator just came back to work, doing some kind of inspection? Inspection of what? Solving something isn’t easy?

Is it okay for me to hear this? Oh, right, I’m a rabbit. Just a black rabbit. 

[This Little Black one. They’re already so easy to understand. Do you really need a translator, Chancellor?]

I need it! Sure, I understand your words, but I can’t speak! Listen to my opinion too! 

The Chancellor responded to my anger with a bitter smile and advised [Let’s listen to her.]

Thank you! What a wonderful Chancellor, to understand the feelings of a girl! 

[Wait…]

Then, His Highness called out to the Chancellor. 

[Why…do you know that Kuro is a girl?]

Eh? What? Why do you care about that? I’m sure everyone else was happy without bringing that up. 

However, there is little reaction from the Chancellor. [I heard Mara talking.] He calmly replies. 

He didn’t say he just ‘knew by looking’. How wonderful. 

I decided to meet the maker of the magic tool at a later date, and the meeting was dissolved. On the way back, I was caught by the muscles (His Highness’s arms) and was carried back. Those we passed by pressed their hands together and bowed. 

Hey there! Don’t just take pity on me and apologise! Save me!


TN: Hey, I was a little cheeky and a bit looser with the translation here. Hopefully it turned out okay! I’m thinking of picking up a new novel! If you want to make a suggestion, visit the ‘Suggest a Novel’ tab at the top of the site! Til next time!

-Lucky

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter

Add a Ko-fi button to your WordPress site – Ko-fi.com Help ...

2 thoughts on “BHHB Chapter 8: Black Rabbit learns about Magic Power

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started